A Hole In My Heart


When you left

the first time;

my heart broke

When you came back;

I thought it would heal

But what you did cannot be undone

There’s STILL a hole

in my heart

One that will never heal

 

They say:
“Time heals ALL wounds”

UNTRUE

at least for me

The hole remains open; w

….raw…

a painful reminder

of past sins

When you left

My heart broke

I thought

I would fall apart

I didn’t

 

….and even after everything

you did

I remained faithful

to vows

I (reluctantly) said

And now I feel

you slipping away

~AGAIN~

Bear this in mind

IF you walk out

just keep going

I’ll change the locks

The hole will deepen

I will not fall apart

I knew what you were

I was with you

anyway

 

IF you leave again

do not ever come back

 

I’m now in the winter

of my life

too old; too stubborn

too wise to change

 

If your happiness lies with another

just leave

In my mind

you have been here

for years

What difference would it make

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you left and did not come back
I would have to go on
I know you’re unhappy
The hole in my heart
would just deepen
Just think long and hard
there’s no coming back
not to me
I’ll be ok
Don’t blame my illness
You don’t have to stay
I will not die
I want a chance to be happy
with or with you
I don’t think
there will be another
My heart will never heal
but I am as much to blame as you
I’m trying to be truthful
now please do the same with me
I will ALWAYS love you
It’s no longer enough
It’s been over for years
Just acknowledge that fact
Do what you have to do
and go get your happiness
I wish you the best
We had a good go;
it just did not last
I am who I am
As you are who you are
just let me have peace
that’s all I really want

Leave a Reply

