Family History VI


Somewhere between Prussia.Russia
Via France – America
My Grandmother decided two things
She would not do in America
She would Not keep Kosher
…and….
she would not wear a wig
She kept those promises
It’s true
Jews are the worse
anti- semites
I always wondered
why we had so many pots
and pans
dishes, etc
She did leave her orthodoxy in
the old ghetto
Although she was a Jew
only by tradition
I did not go to Hebrew School
Girls in my family did not go
My Grandmother insisted that
there was no such things
as a “Bat Mitzvah”…
It was an American thing
She was the daughter
of a Rabbi
and she did not know Hebrew
I think deep down my grandmother
had the mentality of a man

Leave a Reply

